AT&T Return Policy 2026: 14 Days, Up to $55 Fee
The AT&T return policy gives you 14 days and charges up to $55 to restock, $0 on an unopened Apple device. Refunds can take up to two bill periods.

The AT&T return policy gives you 14 days from the purchase date (or the ship date, for shipped orders) to start a return or exchange, allows one exchange, and can charge a restocking fee of up to $55, except in Hawaii. An Apple device returned in unopened packaging carries no fee. Refunds can take up to two AT&T bill periods.
Below, every clause is quoted from AT&T's own policy pages, with what the fee, refund and installment rules mean in practice and how AT&T compares with Verizon and T-Mobile.
Last verified October 28, 2026. Every AT&T clause below was re-checked against AT&T's live Wireless Return & Exchange Policy and the CRU Equipment & ETF terms on that date. The 14-day window, the up-to-$55 restocking fee, the Hawaii exclusion, the 10% accessory fee on items $100 and over, the Apple unopened-package waiver, the 3-day activation-fee refund, the 7-day activation requirement and the two-bill-period refund timing all still read as quoted. New in this revision: Verizon and T-Mobile comparison figures re-checked against each carrier's own policy page, AT&T's current mail-return steps (return labels now ship via UPS), and the status of AT&T's 2026 holiday terms.
The AT&T Return Policy in 60 Seconds
If you stopped reading right now and absorbed only one paragraph of this article, AT&T's policy reduces to this: you have 14 days from the purchase date (or the shipping date if the device was shipped to you) to start a return or exchange at an AT&T-branded store or by calling 800.331.0500, you can be charged a restocking fee of up to $55 at retail (Hawaii excluded), you get to exchange the device exactly once within that window, and the device has to come back in like-new condition with all original components in the original packaging plus the receipt. There are two big carve-outs to memorize: Apple devices returned in unopened packaging carry no restocking fee, and Corporate Responsibility Users — employees billed through a company account — get 30 days instead of 14. Promotions tied to the original purchase are voided on return, your refund to the original payment method can take up to two AT&T bill periods, and the prepaid refill cards you may have layered onto the account are not refundable for cash or credit under any circumstance.

That's the policy in one breath. The rest of this guide walks through every clause line by line, with the verbatim quotes from AT&T's official return policy page so you can verify each rule against the source.
The 14-Day Consumer Return Window
AT&T's headline rule is the 14-day return and exchange period for consumer purchases, and the FAQ on att.com/wireless/return-policy/ states it unambiguously: "If you purchased your item(s) from an AT&T branded store, online (att.com) or over the phone with AT&T, you may return or exchange your item(s) once at an AT&T branded store or by mail by calling 800.331.0500. Returns or exchanges of your item(s) must be made within 14 days from purchase date (or shipping date if item(s) was shipped) for a full refund, less any applicable restocking fees." The top of the same page restates the window: "If you bought your wireless device at att.com, over the phone with AT&T, or at an AT&T branded store, you have 14 days to start your return or exchange."
Two practical points hide inside that one sentence. First, the clock starts on the purchase date for in-store buys and the shipping date for online orders — not the delivery date. If you bought a phone online and the package took six days to arrive, you have eight days left, not fourteen. Second, the policy treats initiation of the return as the deadline event, not completion: as long as you've called 800.331.0500 to request a shipping label or walked into a store and started the process within 14 days, you've met the deadline even if the device physically moves later. That distinction matters most when day 14 lands on a holiday — call AT&T or stop into a store before the clock expires and the return is still in time, even if AT&T's warehouse doesn't scan the device for another week.
A 14-day window ties T-Mobile's store window as the shortest of the major carriers. T-Mobile gives 14 days at its stores but 20 days from the ship date on phone and online orders, and 90 days on phones bought through its Costco partnership. Verizon gives 30 days from purchase. Unlike T-Mobile's, AT&T's 14 days doesn't lengthen online — which is why getting the device into your hands quickly and starting the deliberation clock the moment you sign for delivery matters far more on AT&T than on Verizon.
The 30-Day Window for Corporate Responsibility Users (CRU)
There is exactly one consumer-flavored loophole in AT&T's 14-day cap, and it isn't really for consumers: Corporate Responsibility Users (CRU) — employees with wireless service billed through a company account — get 30 days instead of 14. AT&T's policy spells out the carve-out: "Corporate Responsibility Users can initiate returns up to 30 days after purchase date (or shipping date if item(s) was shipped)." The company's CRU-equipment-ETF terms page restates the same window: "30 Days for Corporate Responsibility Users: You may return or exchange your equipment within 30 days from purchase date (or shipping date if equipment is shipped) (30-day Return Period) for a full refund, less any applicable restocking fees."
A CRU is defined narrowly: "A Corporate Responsibility User (CRU) is an employee receiving service under a corporate account for which their employer has financial responsibility." Translation: if your employer pays the AT&T bill (or part of it), you may qualify. If you're a personal-account holder who happens to work for a company, you don't qualify just by association — the line itself must be billed through the corporate account.
The 30-day CRU window matches the length of Verizon's 30-day consumer window (AT&T's fee is up to $55, Verizon's a flat $50), and both carriers require like-new condition. The bigger difference is who gets it. If you have any choice about whether a new device flows through your work account or your personal account, the 30-day CRU window is materially friendlier than the 14-day consumer window — you double the deliberation period for free.
AT&T Restocking Fee: Up to $55, Hawaii Excluded
AT&T's return policy describes the restocking fee as a cap, but its Mobility Fee Schedule lists the Equipment Restocking Fee as "$55 for all devices," so plan on the full $55 for an opened device. The return policy says: "When returning an item(s) to an AT&T-branded retail store you may be charged a restocking fee of up to $55. You will not be charged a restocking fee for an Apple device returned in unopened packaging." Three details matter:
- The policy's legal terms cap the fee at up to $55: "Device restocking fee: Up to $55 (excludes Hawaii)." AT&T publishes no lower tier below that cap.
- AT&T's FAQ ties the fee to returns at an AT&T-branded retail store; its legal terms list the same up-to-$55 device fee without naming a channel. Equipment bought from a non-AT&T store or seller isn't covered by AT&T's policy at all — it goes back to that seller under that seller's terms.
- Hawaii is fully exempt from the restocking fee. Hawaii law (HRS § 481B-5.5) defines the refund owed as the full payment "without any deduction for restocking," and AT&T's fee line reads "excludes Hawaii."
An up-to-$55 cap sits between its rivals: Verizon charges a flat $50 (plus tax, and also excluding Hawaii), T-Mobile $25/$50/$75 by full retail price (under $300 = $25; $300–$599 = $50; $600 and above = $75), so most flagships cost more to restock at T-Mobile. Because AT&T's fee doesn't scale with price (its fee schedule lists $55 for all devices), a $300 mid-range Android phone carries the same $55 fee as a $1,400 iPhone Pro Max — unless that iPhone Pro Max is returned in its unopened box, in which case the fee disappears entirely.
The Apple Unopened-Package Waiver
The single most valuable line in AT&T's policy, for any iPhone or iPad buyer, is the exception buried inside the restocking-fee clause: "You will not be charged a restocking fee for an Apple device returned in unopened packaging." Verizon's version is broader but hedged: its $50 fee "may" be waived on any device returned sealed or shrink-wrapped (not authorized-retailer purchases). AT&T's is Apple-only but stated flatly. T-Mobile states no sealed-box waiver.
The Apple-unopened waiver is most useful in two real-world buying patterns. First, undecided buyers: if you're torn between an iPhone and a Samsung Galaxy, try the Galaxy first and keep the iPhone box sealed; if the Galaxy wins, the sealed iPhone goes back with no restocking fee. Second, gift mis-targeting: if you bought an iPhone as a gift and the recipient already has one or wants a different model, the sealed box is essentially a free re-do — return it unopened within 14 days and no restocking fee comes out of your refund.
Read the waiver narrowly. AT&T doesn't define "unopened packaging," so assume it means exactly that: the factory seal tabs (or wrap) intact and the box never opened. The moment you slide a thumbnail under the seal to "just check it out," the device is opened and the up-to-$55 fee snaps back into place. If you're not sure you want the device, treat the box like it has gold leaf on it until the deliberation period closes.
The 10% Accessory Restocking Fee Threshold
Most coverage of AT&T's policy stops at devices and never gets to accessories, but the CRU-equipment-ETF terms page publishes the accessory rule alongside the device rule: "Accessory restocking fee: 10% of purchase price for accessories $100 and over (excluding taxes and fees)." The threshold matters: accessories under $100 carry no restocking fee, while accessories at or above $100 carry a flat 10% of the pre-tax purchase price.
A $249 pair of earbuds returns with a $24.90 fee. A $129 accessory bundle returns with $12.90. A $99 wireless charger returns with no restocking fee at all. The same 14-day window applies — accessories aren't on a separate clock. If you're unsure about a pricey accessory, check the return terms wherever else you could buy it before adding it to an AT&T order; at AT&T, anything $100 and up costs 10% to send back.
The One-Exchange Limit
AT&T limits in-window exchanges to one and only one: "You may exchange item(s) for another device once within the applicable return period." That mirrors Verizon's one-exchange cap exactly. T-Mobile's policy doesn't publish a hard one-exchange limit on the consumer page, leaving slightly more flexibility for buyers who change their mind twice.
Three exchange-handling quirks are worth understanding before you commit:
AT&T Certified Restored or Pre-Owned upgrade-to-new path. The policy specifies: "If you bought an AT&T Certified Restored or AT&T Certified Pre-Owned device and want to exchange it for a brand-new version of the same device (if available), or a different device, within the applicable return period, you will have to pay the price difference between the AT&T Certified Restored or AT&T Certified Pre-Owned device and the new device." So an exchange is allowed; you just owe the gap.
Term-commitment restart on CRU exchanges. For CRU customers on legacy term-commitment plans, AT&T notes: "Your CRU line will be subject to a new service commitment. The price you paid for the original item(s) was a term commitment price… The new service commitment term will restart from the date the new item(s) is activated." The same FAQ says your original activation date still governs the warranty. On the cancellation-fee clock, AT&T's own pages disagree: the CRU terms say the commitment restarts from the new device's activation date, "which will be used to calculate any early termination fees," while the FAQ says the original activation date still applies to "calculating any cancellation fees." Get the date in writing before you exchange.
Single shot, period. Use your one exchange wisely. If you exchange a new device for a different new device on day 7 and then realize on day 12 you want the original after all, the policy treats that as a second exchange — which it doesn't allow.
The Like-New Condition Requirement
AT&T's policy uses a notably tight standard for what counts as a valid return: "Your item(s) must be in like-new physical and working condition (e.g., no physical blemishes, internal damage, screen, or other external damage). It must include all original components in the original packaging and the receipt/proof of purchase. If anything is missing or the device is not in like-new condition, your return may not be accepted."
Three phrases inside that sentence are doing a lot of work:
"Like-new physical and working condition." Not "good condition." Not "no major damage." Like-new — meaning the device should look indistinguishable from a sealed-box unit when an AT&T retail associate inspects it. A scratch on the bezel, a hairline crack on the camera lens, a dust speck inside the speaker grille — any of these can flip the return from accepted to rejected at the associate's discretion.
"All original components in the original packaging." The cables, the SIM tray ejection pin, the documentation, the box itself — all of it. Throw out the manufacturer-shipped USB-C cable, hand the device back without it, and AT&T can refuse the return outright because a "component is missing."
"Receipt/proof of purchase." AT&T can pull your purchase history from your account, but the legal language requires the receipt; bringing the paper or digital receipt to a store return is a five-minute step that prevents a return getting paused while a manager looks up the transaction.
The CRU page adds two operational requirements that apply equally to consumer returns: you must disable all security features ("All security features must be disabled or removed, such as Find My (Apple), Find My Mobile (Samsung), or the equivalent equipment locator service") and you must factory reset the device ("perform a factory reset before returning your equipment"). A device that comes back with Find My Activation Lock still engaged is essentially a paperweight to AT&T — they cannot resell or refurbish it — and the return will be rejected on the spot.
AT&T Certified Pre-Owned and Certified Restored Exchange Rules
AT&T sells two refurbished tiers — Certified Pre-Owned and Certified Restored — alongside its new-device lineup, and the policy carves out specific exchange rules for both. The exchange-to-new path requires paying the price difference, as noted above. The warranty coverage is also explicitly time-bounded: "AT&T backs its AT&T Certified Pre-Owned and AT&T Certified Restored devices with a 90-day warranty on devices and accessories."
That 90-day warranty matters because it's the only post-return coverage you get on a refurbished AT&T device. By contrast, new Apple devices sold through AT&T carry Apple's 1-year limited warranty: "New Apple branded equipment is covered by Apple's one-year Limited Warranty." For AT&T-Certified Restored Apple devices, the policy specifies the warranty inheritance: "AT&T Certified Restored Apple branded equipment covered under Apple's original Limited Warranty will have at least 90 days or more remaining under warranty when sold."
The practical takeaway: if reliability and warranty length matter to you, the new-Apple-through-AT&T path gets you the full 1-year manufacturer warranty plus AT&T's 14-day return window. The Certified Restored path saves you money up front but can leave you with as little as 90 days of warranty coverage, and exchanging up to new costs you the price difference. Most readers who care about long-term protection should pay the gap for new; readers who care about up-front cost and accept the 90-day warranty risk should consider Certified Restored.
How AT&T Issues Refunds (And How Long It Takes)
AT&T's refund timeline is long by retail standards: "Your refund for a return, less any applicable restocking fees, may be made through the original payment method (credit, debit, check, etc.) and may take up to 2 AT&T bill periods." An "AT&T bill period" is roughly one calendar month, so the policy effectively allows up to two months for a refund to appear on your card statement after the return is accepted.
Verizon's policy states no refund time; it refunds to the original tender, and purchases billed to the wireless account are credited there. In practice, an AT&T return often shows up first as a credit on your AT&T account, and the refund to your card or check follows later; AT&T's policy doesn't describe those steps, only the up-to-two-bill-period ceiling.
Two practical implications. First, if you're returning a device and switching carriers, an AT&T account credit won't help you — in practice, a credit sitting on an open account tends to absorb into a future bill rather than refund to your card, so ask for it to be refunded to the original payment method. Second, the policy explicitly notes that "Any promotions that were part of the original purchase will be voided" — if you got a $400 trade-in credit or a $200 line activation promotion as part of the original purchase, returning the device wipes those promotions and the math runs at the un-promoted price. Refunds reflect the net amount paid, not the original list price.
When Your Refund Actually Lands
AT&T's policy allows up to two bill periods for a refund to reach your original payment method. A bill period is roughly a calendar month, so a device returned in mid-October can legitimately take until mid-December to post to your card. In practice the money tends to move in two stages, and most "where is my refund" confusion comes from mistaking the first stage for the second.

Stage one: the account credit. In practice, an accepted return often appears first as a credit on your AT&T account; AT&T doesn't publish a timeline for this step. You can see it in myAT&T as a balance reduction. This is not a refund. Nothing has reached your bank.
Stage two: the refund to your card. Under the policy, the refund to your original payment method can take up to two AT&T bill periods. If you still have an active AT&T line, a credit balance will often be absorbed by your next bill instead of being refunded; AT&T's refunds support page says that on an active account it applies a credit balance from an overpayment to your next bill "unless you request a refund." That is a common reason a return seems to have "never refunded" — the money was applied, not returned.
| Stage | What you should see | Typical timing | Where to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Return accepted | Receipt or return confirmation email | Same day in store; on warehouse scan by mail | Email, or the store receipt |
| Account credit posts | Balance drops in myAT&T | Not published by AT&T | myAT&T account balance |
| Card refund posts | Credit line on your card statement | Up to 2 AT&T bill periods | Your card or bank statement |
| Past policy | Nothing on the card after 2 full bill periods | Escalate | AT&T support, then your card issuer |
Three reasons the number is smaller than you expected
A refund that arrives short is not necessarily an error. AT&T's policy names three deductions, and all three are legitimate under the terms you agreed to:
- The restocking fee. Up to $55 on a device returned at an AT&T-branded retail store, excluding Hawaii, and 10% on accessories priced $100 and over. The policy says your refund is issued "less any applicable restocking fees."
- Voided promotions. AT&T states that "Any promotions that were part of the original purchase will be voided." A trade-in credit or activation promotion attached to the purchase disappears, and the refund is calculated on what you actually paid, not the list price.
- The activation fee, if you are past three days. It is only refundable if service is canceled within three days of activation.
If the money has not arrived
Work the steps in order; each one builds the record the next one needs.
- Confirm AT&T accepted the return. For a mail return, check the tracking and then the account. AT&T warns that if the device isn't in like-new condition or items are missing, the return "may not be accepted."
- Check whether the credit was absorbed. Look at myAT&T for a credit that reduced a later bill rather than refunding. If you are keeping service, call and ask specifically for the credit balance to be refunded to the card rather than applied.
- Give it two full bill periods. Before that point, AT&T is still inside its published window and support will tell you so.
- Escalate in writing. Ask for a refund-status reference number and the date the credit was released.
- Ask your card issuer about a dispute. Do this once AT&T has exceeded its own stated window. Under the federal Fair Credit Billing Act, your written notice must reach the issuer within 60 days after it sent the first statement showing the error, so if the original charge sits on an older statement, ask the issuer which deadline applies. The Federal Trade Commission's guidance on disputing credit card charges walks through the process, and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau explains your rights and the issuer's deadlines. Our guide to disputing a credit card charge covers the letter and the timeline in detail.
Returning the device does not stop the bill
This catches people every month. Returning a phone is not cancelling a line. If you return the device but leave the line active, AT&T keeps billing the monthly service charge, and any installment plan tied to a device you no longer have may be accelerated rather than cleared — AT&T's terms say "the installment plan balance may be accelerated" if equipment is not returned within the permitted period, and that cancelling the service after the return period can put the plan "in default resulting in acceleration."
So after a return, check your next statement for a service charge you no longer want to be paying. A line that quietly keeps billing after you have walked away from the hardware behaves exactly like a cancelled subscription that is still being charged, and the fix is the same: find the charge, confirm what it is actually for, and get written confirmation of the cancellation date. If the charge is for a service you believe you cancelled, our guide on getting a refund for a forgotten subscription charge covers how far back you can realistically claim.
The 3-Day Activation-Fee Refund Window
A small but consequential clause: "AT&T will refund any activation fee you paid if you cancel service within 3 days of activation." AT&T's Mobility fee schedule lists the activation/upgrade fee at $35 per line ($50 for a subsidized device sold with a service commitment); if you activate a new line and decide within 72 hours that you don't want it, the activation fee is fully refundable. After 72 hours, the activation fee is permanently kept regardless of when the device or service is returned.
Pair this with the 14-day device window and you have an asymmetric grace: you can return the phone for 14 days, but you have only 3 days to walk away from the activation fee. If you're testing whether AT&T's network works in your specific home, office, or commute zone, do the speed-test driving in the first 72 hours so you can pull the plug before the activation fee turns into a permanent line item.
The 7-Day Activation Requirement
AT&T's CRU-equipment-ETF terms include a rule that's easy to miss for anyone whose device is shipped: "(a) if you purchase a device that is shipped to you, you agree to activate the device within 7 days of the shipment date; and (b) if your device is not activated by you, we may activate the device for you within a month of shipping. In either case, your monthly recurring charges and any applicable service commitment will begin upon activation."
Translation: if you order a phone online and it ships on a Monday, you have until the following Monday to power it on, insert the SIM, and complete activation. If you don't, AT&T reserves the right to auto-activate the line themselves within a month — at which point your monthly charges begin even though you haven't touched the device. That auto-activation rule exists to prevent "buy and sit on it" arbitrage on promotional pricing, but it can bite a buyer who genuinely meant to set up the phone and got distracted by a work trip or a vacation.
If you know you won't be home to activate within seven days of shipping, the safe play is to delay the purchase. If the box arrives just before a trip, activate it before you leave. If you no longer want it, call 800.331.0500 and start the return inside the 14 days rather than letting it sit; AT&T's 14-day clock runs from the ship date either way.
The AT&T Installment Plan Acceleration Trigger
Most new AT&T phones are financed on an AT&T Installment Plan (AIP); AT&T's CRU terms also name an Equipment Installment Plan (EIP). The policy spells out exactly what happens if you return the device or cancel service mid-plan: "If you cancel your AT&T Installment Plan (AIP) or Equipment Installment Plan (EIP) within the 30-day Return Period, then you must return your equipment within the permitted time period. If you do not return your equipment within the permitted time period, then the installment plan balance may be accelerated, and the cost of the equipment (less any down payment) will be charged to your account and becomes due in full."
Two consequences worth memorizing:
Within 14 days (consumer) or 30 days (CRU): You can cancel the installment plan and return the device. Any down payment refunds (the policy notes "Any refundable down payment may take up to 2 AT&T bill periods to be processed"). Refundable money flows back.
After 14/30 days, if you cancel service: AT&T's consumer terms say that if you cancel the service tied to the device "any time after the 14-day Return Period, then your installment plan may be in default resulting in acceleration of your installment plan balance, which will be charged to your account and become due." The CRU terms say the same after their 30-day period. Acceleration means the remaining payments collapse into one charge: a $1,000 iPhone with $300 in payments completed becomes a $700 charge on your AT&T account. The installment plan is functionally tied to active AT&T wireless service — kill the service, and the balance accelerates. To avoid this, pay the installment balance off before you cancel or port out; porting ends AT&T service just as cancelling does.
Prepaid Refill Cards Are Not Refundable
The legal modal makes this explicit: "Prepaid refill cards, PINs, or other account payments are not refundable or redeemable for cash or credit." If you bought a prepaid AT&T refill card or PIN to top up a prepaid line, that money is gone the moment the card is purchased. You cannot return an unused prepaid PIN to AT&T for a refund; you cannot trade it for store credit; you cannot redeem it for cash.
This rule is critical for two specific scenarios. First, gift mis-buys: if you bought a $50 prepaid refill card as a gift and the recipient is on a postpaid plan or a different carrier, the $50 is non-recoverable — even if the card was never scratched. Second, wrong-amount buys: if you bought a $100 refill card meaning to buy $25, the $75 over-payment is non-recoverable. Buy prepaid cards only in the exact denomination you want, and never as a gift unless you're certain the recipient is on AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone).
What AT&T Excludes From Returns Entirely
AT&T's CRU-equipment-ETF page lists four full categories of equipment that cannot be returned or exchanged under the policy at all, regardless of condition or timing: "Equipment purchased through a non-AT&T branded store or seller; please return the equipment to the point of sale where you purchased the equipment. Equipment received through an AT&T device protection program. Gift cards. Equipment sold as closeout or as-is."
Non-AT&T sellers: A phone bought from Best Buy or another non-AT&T seller follows that seller's policy and customer service. This is the same logic Verizon applies to devices bought from its Authorized Retailers.
Protection-program replacements: A device received as a replacement through an AT&T device protection program cannot be returned to AT&T as if it were a new purchase. Replacements come with their own warranty: one year for devices connected to the AT&T network and 90 days for devices that are not, per the warranty clause in AT&T's terms.
Gift cards: Bought gift cards from AT&T-branded retail aren't returnable for a refund. Treat them as final-sale.
Closeout or as-is equipment: If a device was explicitly sold as "as-is," "closeout," or "final sale" at the point of purchase, the standard 14-day return policy does not apply. AT&T uses closeout pricing rarely — usually only at the very end of a product cycle when a discontinued device is being cleared from inventory.
Does AT&T Extend Returns for the Holidays?
AT&T posts holiday terms as a seasonal banner. As of October 28, 2026 none is up; the 2025 banner ("extended return period on orders made through Dec. 20th") appeared in the first week of November 2025. Until AT&T posts 2026 terms, assume 14 days and check att.com/wireless/return-policy/ before buying a gift.
The banner has a track record: the full 2025 text read "Buy your gift online and enjoy an extended return period on orders made through Dec. 20th," and the 2023 version used a Dec. 19th cutoff. Both covered online orders only, and neither banner stated how long the extended window ran; that detail sat behind its "See details" link. If a 2026 banner appears, read those details before you assume a gifted phone can come back in January.
The February 2024 Business Cancellation Fee Schedule
For business customers — primarily CRU lines and small-business accounts — AT&T overhauled its Cancellation Fee (also called Early Termination Fee) structure effective February 14, 2024. The current schedule is keyed to undiscounted device retail price and decays month-by-month over the service commitment:
| Device Category | Undiscounted Retail Price | Initial Cancellation Fee | Monthly Decline |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | Less than $300 | $150 | $5 |
| B | $300 to $449.99 | $300 | $10 |
| C | $450 to $599.99 | $450 | $15 |
| D | $600 to $749.99 | $600 | $20 |
| E | $750 or more | $750 | $25 |
AT&T's own worked example: "a smartphone in Category D that costs $700 at full price (undiscounted retail price) and only $550 when purchased with a 2-year service commitment (discounted retail price) would be subject to a Cancellation Fee of $600 minus $20 for each full calendar month completed under the 2-year service commitment: In month 12 of the 2-year service commitment, the Cancellation Fee would be reduced to $380… In month 18, the Cancellation Fee would be reduced to $260."
Business agreements with an Effective Date before February 14, 2024 still use the older formula: "For a smartphone: $325 minus $10 for each full month you complete under your service commitment. For a basic phone (also referred to as feature phone), tablet, mobile hotspot device, USB modem or other non-smartphone device: $150 minus $4 for each full calendar month you complete under your service commitment."
Two implications worth knowing: First, the Feb-2024 schedule produces a higher initial Cancellation Fee for higher-priced devices than the legacy schedule (a $750+ device starts at $750 vs. $325 under legacy) — while a smartphone under $450 now starts below the legacy $325. Which formula applies depends on your business agreement's Effective Date, not on when you bought the phone. Second, there is no Cancellation Fee if you purchase your device through an installment plan or at full price — only term-committed discounted purchases trigger the schedule. This table applies to business agreements; on consumer lines, AT&T's fee schedule charges its Early Termination Fee to customers who cancel a one- or two-year service commitment early.
AT&T vs. Verizon vs. T-Mobile: 2026 Return Policy Side-by-Side

The three national carriers' 2026 policies share a few basics (original packaging with all contents, undamaged condition, a Hawaii exception to the restocking fee) and diverge sharply on the headline numbers. Every Verizon and T-Mobile figure below was checked against that carrier's own policy page on October 28, 2026; "Not stated" means the policy page doesn't say.
| Policy Element | AT&T | Verizon | T-Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer return window | 14 days | 30 days | 14 days (store) / 20 days (online, from ship date) / 90 days (Costco) |
| Window starts | Purchase or ship date | Date of purchase | Purchase or ship date |
| Corporate / business window | 30 days (CRU) | Not separately stated | Not separately stated |
| Device restocking fee | Up to $55 | $50 flat | $25 / $50 / $75 tiered by FRP |
| Sealed-box fee waiver | Yes — Apple devices, full fee waived | Any device, sealed or shrink-wrapped ('may') | None stated |
| Hawaii restocking carve-out | Yes | Yes | Hawaii policy doc has no restocking clause |
| Accessory restocking fee | 10% on $100+ | Not separately stated | Device tiers apply |
| Exchanges allowed | One | One | No published cap |
| Refund timing to card | Up to 2 bill periods | Not stated | Not stated |
| Activation fee refund window | 3 days | 3 days | Not stated |
| If a financed device isn't returned | Installment balance may be accelerated | Not stated on return policy page | May charge full retail price |
Verdict: AT&T's window doesn't stretch: 14 days whether you buy in a store or online, against Verizon's 30 days and T-Mobile's 14 in store, 20 online and 90 through Costco. Its fee cap sits between Verizon's flat $50 and T-Mobile's $75 top tier. The structural bright spot is the Apple unopened-package waiver: AT&T states it flatly, while Verizon's broader sealed-box waiver only says the fee "may" be waived and T-Mobile states none. If you buy an iPhone and keep the box sealed while you decide, an AT&T return can cost you no restocking fee at all. If you like to open and try a device, AT&T's short window is the real cost — Verizon gives you more than twice as long.
How to Actually Return an AT&T Device, Step by Step
AT&T offers two return paths and they have different operational quirks. Its policy page lists "Two easy ways to get started": call 800.331.0500, and AT&T "will initiate your return or exchange by emailing you a prepaid shipping label to mail your device back," or head into "any AT&T retail store."
Path 1 — In store, at any AT&T-branded retail location. Best for in-store original purchases, the fastest acceptance, and hands-on questions about exchange options.
- Start within 14 days. The deadline is on initiating the return, not completing it, so walking in on day 14 counts.
- Prepare the device. Back up your data, sign out of your Apple or Google account, disable Find My or Find My Mobile, factory reset, and remove the SIM and any storage cards. A device returned with Activation Lock engaged will be rejected.
- Bring two things. The device in its original packaging with all original components, and the receipt or proof of purchase.
- Tell the first associate you're returning a device, so you're routed to someone who can process it.
- Watch the inspection. The associate checks for damage and confirms Find My is off before accepting the device.
- Take a written acceptance receipt showing the date, the device IMEI and any restocking fee charged. This is your evidence if the refund stalls.
- Track the refund. It can take up to two bill periods to reach your card; in practice it may show up first as a credit on your AT&T account.
Path 2 — By mail, with a prepaid shipping label. Best for online purchases when you cannot reach an AT&T store.
- Call 800.331.0500 within the 14-day window to start the return. AT&T emails you a prepaid shipping label.
- Prepare the device exactly as above: back up, sign out, disable Find My, factory reset, remove the SIM.
- Repack everything. AT&T's instruction: "Pack your device and all original components in the original packaging."
- Include proof of purchase. AT&T's like-new rule says a return must include "the receipt/proof of purchase," so put a copy of the order confirmation in the box and keep one for yourself.
- Photograph the packed box and the label before you seal it. If AT&T later says the return arrived incomplete, this is the only evidence you will have.
- Record the tracking number. AT&T says to "Save the prepaid shipping label tracking number for your records."
- Ship it via UPS and track it at ups.com/track, per AT&T's mail-return instructions.
Mail-return warning from the policy: "If the device isn't in like-new condition, or items are missing, your return or exchange may not be accepted." For CRU lines on an installment plan, AT&T's terms add that a rejected return is sent back to you and "you will be charged the remaining balance on your installment plan." AT&T's consumer terms don't spell out what happens to a rejected mail return, which is a strong argument for in-store returns whenever practical: you get to see the associate accept the device, get a written acceptance receipt, and remove ambiguity about its condition on the spot.
Either way: disable Find My / Find My Mobile, factory reset, remove the SIM and any storage cards, and back up your data before handing the device over. A device returned with Activation Lock engaged will be rejected; a device returned without a factory reset still has your personal data on it; a device returned with a SIM still inserted may delay AT&T's processing while they pull the SIM and store it.
For help keeping track of returns across all your devices and online orders, Purchy reads the order receipts in your inbox, files each purchase and starts a return reminder on it, and can put the reminder on your calendar. Check AT&T's own window for the exact date.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many days do I have to return an AT&T device in 2026?
14 days from the purchase date for consumer purchases, or 14 days from the shipping date if the device was shipped to you. Corporate Responsibility Users on a company-billed line get 30 days. The clock starts on the purchase or shipping date — not the delivery date — and the deadline is measured from when you initiate the return (calling 800.331.0500 or walking into a store), not when AT&T finishes processing it.
What is AT&T's restocking fee in 2026?
AT&T charges a restocking fee of up to $55 at AT&T-branded retail returns, with Hawaii excluded from the fee entirely. AT&T's Mobility Fee Schedule lists that fee as $55 for all devices, so expect the full $55 on an opened device. Accessories priced at $100 or above carry a separate 10% restocking fee; accessories under $100 carry no restocking fee. The most important exception: Apple devices returned in unopened packaging carry no restocking fee at all.
Does AT&T charge a restocking fee on iPhone returns?
It depends on whether you opened the box. AT&T's policy reads verbatim: "You will not be charged a restocking fee for an Apple device returned in unopened packaging." If you took the iPhone out, set it up, and decided to return it, the up-to-$55 fee applies. If you kept the box sealed during your deliberation period and returned it untouched within 14 days, the restocking fee is zero. Read also: the AppleCare+ refund policy and the Apple return policy complete guide.
Can I return an AT&T phone I've opened and used?
Yes, within 14 days (30 for CRU lines), if it is in like-new physical and working condition with all original components in the original packaging and the receipt. Expect a restocking fee of up to $55 (AT&T's fee schedule lists $55 for all devices), except in Hawaii; only an Apple device returned unopened carries no fee.
Can I return an AT&T phone after 14 days?
No. Outside any holiday extension AT&T posts for online gift orders, the 14-day window is firm for consumer purchases. After day 14, your device is no longer eligible for return or exchange under AT&T's policy. Your remaining options are the manufacturer warranty (Apple's 1-year limited warranty for new Apple devices, 90-day warranty for AT&T Certified Pre-Owned/Restored), an AT&T device protection plan if you have one (for damage, loss or theft replacement), or AT&T Next Up Anytime if you added it to your installment plan — none of which provide refunds, only replacements or new-device pricing breaks.
How do I cancel my AT&T wireless service?
Call 800.331.0500 to cancel. Per the policy: "You are responsible for all applicable fees, prorated access charges, taxes, surcharges, or other charges through the termination date. CRU customers are also responsible for any applicable Early Termination Fee (also referred to as a Cancellation Fee)." If you cancel within 3 days of activation, your activation fee is refunded. If you're mid-installment-plan, see the Installment Plan Acceleration section — canceling service mid-plan can trigger an acceleration of the remaining device-payment balance.
How long does AT&T take to refund a return?
"Your refund for a return, less any applicable restocking fees, may be made through the original payment method (credit, debit, check, etc.) and may take up to 2 AT&T bill periods." Two bill periods is approximately two months in calendar terms. In practice, the return often shows up first as a credit on your AT&T account; AT&T doesn't publish a separate timeline for that step. For tighter monitoring, see how long does a refund take and the steps in how to dispute a credit card charge if a refund hasn't appeared within the two-bill-period window.
Can I exchange an AT&T device more than once?
No. AT&T's policy explicitly limits exchanges to one and only one within the 14-day return window: "You may exchange item(s) for another device once within the applicable return period." If you exchange a new device for a different new device on day 7 and then realize on day 12 you want the original device after all, that second exchange is not allowed under policy. Verizon also allows one exchange; T-Mobile's published policy states no cap.
What happens to my AT&T Installment Plan if I return the device?
Within the 14-day return window: you cancel the installment plan and return the device; any refundable down payment "may take up to 2 AT&T bill periods to be processed." After the 14-day window, if you cancel the service tied to the device, the policy says your plan "may be in default resulting in acceleration of your installment plan balance, which will be charged to your account and become due." The lesson: if you want to return a financed device, you must do it within the 14-day window. After day 14, your only path to walk away cleanly is paying the installment balance off in full before canceling service.
Are AT&T prepaid refill cards refundable?
No. The policy is unambiguous: "Prepaid refill cards, PINs, or other account payments are not refundable or redeemable for cash or credit." A refill card you bought as a gift, in the wrong amount, or for the wrong recipient is non-recoverable money. Buy AT&T prepaid refills only in the exact amount you intend to use, and verify the recipient is on an AT&T Prepaid line before gifting.
My AT&T return was accepted but no money reached my card. What now?
First check whether the credit was applied to your AT&T account rather than refunded. If your line is still active, a credit balance is often absorbed by your next bill instead of being pushed back to your card, which is a common cause of a "missing" refund. Call and ask specifically for the credit to be refunded to the original payment method. If two full bill periods have passed — AT&T's own stated maximum — you can ask your card issuer about a dispute; the Fair Credit Billing Act's written-notice deadline is 60 days from the first statement showing the error.
Does returning an AT&T phone cancel my service?
No. Returning the device and cancelling the line are separate actions. If you return a phone and leave the line active, AT&T keeps billing the monthly service charge. An installment plan tied to the returned device may also be accelerated rather than cleared if the return falls outside the permitted period. Check your next statement after any return.
Why was my AT&T refund smaller than what I paid?
Three deductions are standard and all are in the policy. A restocking fee of up to $55 applies to devices returned at an AT&T-branded store, excluding Hawaii, and 10% applies to accessories priced $100 and over. Any promotions attached to the original purchase are voided, so the refund is based on what you actually paid rather than list price. The activation fee is only refundable if service is cancelled within three days of activation.
Related Purchy guides:
- Verizon Return Policy 2026: 30 Days, $50 Restock, 1 Exchange
- T-Mobile Return Policy 2026: 14 Days, 20 Online, 90 Costco
- Cell Phone Return Policy & Restocking Fees 2026: Complete Guide
- AppleCare+ Refund Policy 2026
- Apple Return Policy 2026 Complete Guide
- Samsung Return Policy 2026
- Best Buy Return Policy 2026 Complete Guide
- Costco Return Policy 2026 Complete Guide
- Canceled Subscription Still Being Charged in 2026
- How Long Does a Refund Take in 2026?
- How to Dispute a Credit Card Charge 2026
- Holder Rule and BNPL Refunds 2026
- Cooling-Off Rule: The 3-Day Right to Cancel 2026
- Return Policy Laws by State 2026
Sources
Every policy quotation in this guide was taken from the carrier's own published pages and re-checked on October 28, 2026.
Primary sources
- AT&T Wireless Return & Exchange Policy — the 14-day consumer window, the 30-day CRU window, the up-to-$55 restocking fee, the Apple unopened-package waiver, the one-exchange limit, the like-new condition rule, the two-bill-period refund timing, the voided-promotions clause, the two return paths and the UPS mail-return steps
- AT&T CRU Equipment and Early Termination Fee terms — the Hawaii exclusion on the restocking fee, the 10% accessory restocking fee on items $100 and over, the 3-day activation-fee refund window, the 7-day activation requirement, the installment-plan acceleration clause and the February 2024 Cancellation Fee table
- AT&T Mobility Fee Schedule — the $35 activation/upgrade fee, the "$55 for all devices" equipment restocking line and the consumer Early Termination Fee for service commitments
- AT&T: Learn about refunds — on an active account, a credit balance from an overpayment is applied to your next bill unless you request a refund
- Verizon Return Policy — the 30-day window, the $50 restocking fee excluding Hawaii, the sealed-box and shrink-wrap fee exception, the one-exchange limit, refunds to the original tender and the 3-day activation-fee rule
- T-Mobile Return Policy and its Hawaii return policy — the 14-day store, 20-day online and 90-day Costco windows, the $25/$50/$75 restocking tiers, and the Hawaii document's lack of a restocking clause
Regulatory sources
- Hawaii Revised Statutes § 481B-5.5 — the definition of a refund as the full payment without any deduction for restocking
- US Federal Trade Commission, Using Credit Cards and Disputing Charges — the billing-error process under the Fair Credit Billing Act
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, how to dispute a charge on your credit card bill — your rights and the issuer's response deadlines
- Regulation Z, 12 CFR 1026.13 — the billing-error notice deadline: 60 days after the first periodic statement that reflects the error
For the full carrier-by-carrier detail, see our guides to Verizon and T-Mobile.
AT&T can change these terms without notice. Confirm the current window and fee on AT&T's policy page before you rely on them.
Your AT&T receipts, found and filed.
Connect your inbox once. Purchy pulls in the order emails it finds from AT&T and the other stores you buy from, files each purchase, and sets a return reminder on it.
Scan to get Purchy on your phone
Purchy is free to download. Purchy Pro is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year. There is no free trial. Cancel any time from the App Store or Google Play. Read-only access to your email and bank.